Exporting to Object Storage

Export files to an Object Storage bucket from a File Storage with Lustre file system.

On the first export for a link, all files in the Lustre file system are copied to the Object Storage bucket because everything is new. Items that existed in the bucket before the export are unchanged. For later exports, only files that are new or have been updated since the last job are copied - deletions aren't mirrored in either direction.

You can export data concurrently with other import or export jobs on the same Lustre file system when each job uses a different Object Storage link. Only one job can run at a time for a given link. If a job is already running for the selected link, the export request is rejected.

Note

Wait until the sync job (import or export) is finished before you add, remove, move, rename, or edit any files or folders inside the folder being synced. Changing files while a sync job is in progress can lead to unexpected results, such as files being ignored or overwritten.

After you start an export, you can check its progress or cancel it at any time.

Using the Console

  1. On the Lustre file systems list page, select the file system that you want to work with. If you need help finding the list page, see Listing File Systems.
  2. On the file system details page, select Object Storage links.
    All Object Storage links in the file system are displayed.
  3. Select the link that you want to use to export data.
  4. From Actions, select Export.
  5. In the Export panel, verify the Lustre directory and Object Storage details.
  6. Select Export.